2007-2008

Biomedical Engineering Lecture Series

December 12, 2008
Biosensing with Bioluminescent Genetically Engineered Proteins and Cells: from Molecular Switches to Quorum Sensing
Sylvia Daunert, PhD
December 12, 2008
Developing Several Separate Types of CD-Based Fluidic Platforms for Genomic Point of Care Tests (GPOCT)
Marc Madou, PhD
Thursday, October 30, 2008
NANOTECHNOLOGY FOR EYE REPAIR
Jeffrey Goldberg, MD, PhD
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Y-90 MICROSPHERES: ENGINEERING A NEW LIVER CANCER TREATMENT
Seza Gulec, MD
Monday, July 28, 2008
The Mammalian High Mobility Group Protein AT-hook 2:
a DNA-binding onco-protein

Fenfei Leng, PhD
Thursday, May 15, 2008
Tissue Engineering of Skeletal and Cardiac Muscles
Yen-Chih Huang, PhD
Wednesday, May 14, 2008
Adult Stem Cell-based Craniofacial Tissue Engineering
Liu Hong, M.D.,, PhD
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
Tissue and Stress Variability in Vertebral Bone
Yener H. Yeni, PhD
Monday, May 12, 2008
Microfabricated Platforms for Stem Cell Research
Bonggeun Chung, PhD
Tuesday, March 11, 2008
Flow Divertors as Monotherapy to Cure Cerebral Aneurysms
B. Barry Lieber, PhD
Wednesday, March 5, 2008
Translational Nanomedicine: Clinical Approaches
Chiming Wei, MD, PhD, FACC, FAHA, FCCP, FAAN
Tuesday, March 4, 2008
Photonic BioEngineering for Translational Applications
In Biology, Medicine and Surgery

Daniel L. Farkas, PhD
Wednesday, February 27, 2008
Role of Mechanical Force and Scaffold in Stem Cell-Based
Cartilage Tissue Engineering
Herman S. Cheung, Ph.D.
Monday, February 18, 2008
Why there is no HIV-1 Vaccine Yet?
What is the Nature of Molecular Defenses that are at work against HIV-1?
Omar Bagasra, M.D., Ph.D.
Wednesday, December 12, 2007
Chemosensing Mechanism of the Carotid body
Vakalet Tek, PhD
Research Scientist
Applied Research Center
Florida international University
Friday, November 30, 2007
Caught Between a Rock and a Soft Place 3-D Nanoscale Structures with Biological Applications
Dr. Carl A. Batt
Cornell University
Thursday, November 29, 2007
Periodic Acceleration (pGz) The Short Story
Dr. Jose A. Adams, MD
Chief of Neonatology
Mt. Sinai Medical Center
Friday, October 26, 2007
Computer Navigation in Joint Replacement Surgery
Carlos Lavernia, M.D.
Chief of Orthopedics
Mercy Hospital
Friday, October 19, 2007
New Advances in Nanomedicine: from Bench to Bedside
Dr. Chiming Wei
Director of Cardiovascular Molecular Research Program
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine